Impala61 and camaro79

Car Craft
Item Posts    Sort Order

Impala61 and camaro79

mi_ce mi_ce
New User | Posts: 1 | Joined: 03/14
Posted: 03/11/14
12:34 PM

Hi, please help I'm lost, I have a impala 61 four door 283, no rust and a berlineta 79 305 rusted floors body really good don't know about engine, here is my issue I  don't want a show car, I just want to preserve this two cars, I'm not a mechanic and I don't know where to start or if is worth it to spent time and money in this two I love them no matter that they are not ss, the impala has 4 drum brakes, should I replace them with disc or keep it like that any advice will be greatly appreciated so much, I don't want this cars to end n the junk yard, please help me with any advice.  

wayne712222 wayne712222
User | Posts: 121 | Joined: 10/13
Posted: 03/11/14
02:21 PM

there are several articles about disc brake swaps for impalas over in low rider.

here is one on slightly later impala..  yours is probably slightly different being a 61..

http://www.lowridermagazine.com/tech/1209_lrmp_rear_braking_with_cpp/

one on a front suspension upgrade..

http://www.lowridermagazine.com/tech/1211_lrmp_global_west_a_arms_upgrade/

there are more articles spread out in the many magazines on this site..

will the 79 rear end fit under the impala..  it might.. i would have to search the widths..

properly assembled drum brakes will work just fine..

the biggest issue is worn brake drum surfaces.. the drums wear and leave tapered surface for the brake shoes to attempt to grab..  this reduces braking forces applied..  same goes for worn disc brake rotors..

Wornbrakedrums Zps1038d8de

you can upload images to photobucket and paste links here..

or a video walk around that you post to youtube    and paste the link here..

this way we can see what you are dealing with. .  

OliverHevvy OliverHevvy
New User | Posts: 9 | Joined: 05/14
Posted: 05/29/14
02:41 PM