Which powertrain? Vote

Car Craft
Item Posts    Sort Order

Which powertrain? Vote

Gatlin Gatlin
New User | Posts: 1 | Joined: 05/12
Posted: 05/22/12
07:45 PM

I recently traded for this '64 Chevelle. It's an old fashioned "barn find", besides the wheels it's stock. 283 4bbl, 3 on the tree, 10 bolt. Needs some rust repair and other than that it only needs.....well, everything. Anyways, I'm in the brainstorming period of the build. Trying to decide what direction to go. Heres my two favorite ideas so far, which do you guys think?

283 with a 5 speed

454 with a TH400

'64 'Velle 283, 3 on the tree, bone stock barn find...for now.

Pontiacman8 Pontiacman8
Moderator | Posts: 31 | Joined: 01/08
Posted: 05/25/12
06:30 AM

Out of those two options the  454 with a TH400.
But if it was mine I would go with a 350 or 383 build w/TH-350.  
Engine builder,self taught auto body guy.
Horsepower sells engines and torque wins races

Pontiacman8
Pontiacman8
Pontiacman8

wrp wrp
Enthusiast | Posts: 406 | Joined: 09/10
Posted: 05/25/12
07:50 PM

I would personally think the most economical and optional combination would be an LSx with a Tremec 6 speed. JMHO I'd give anything to have something like that for my powertrain.  
A Bumblebee is considerably faster than a John Deere Tractor.

pepsi1 pepsi1
Enthusiast | Posts: 301 | Joined: 10/11
Posted: 05/26/12
12:02 AM

I would go 6.0 with the 4L80E.

But a 350/350 with a 6 speed tremec and a 3:90 rear gear and I think when your tuned up you'll have a nice little ride... Grin  Cool  

64_Cutlass 64_Cutlass
New User | Posts: 8 | Joined: 01/12
12:45 AM

I'd vote 327 with overdrive trans be it 5 speed manual or 4 speed auto (assuming you want to keep costs reasonable).  The 327 keeps it to its roots and the overdrive helps at the pump. JMO. Nonetheless sweet little '64  

waynep71222 waynep71222
User | Posts: 155 | Joined: 04/12
03:54 PM

i would think that the 4 barrel 283 motor is going to get great mileage..

go for the 5 speed ..